Electronic Frontier Canada
Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for formulating policy and carrying out the operations of the organization.

The Board is pleased to receive nominations of like-minded individuals of national stature to add to the Board. Please note that new Directors are appointed by the existing Board, not elected.

The Board of Directors currently consists of three people: David Jones, Richard Rosenberg, and Jeffrey Shallit.

David Jones (President)

David Jones was born in Toronto in 1962. As an undergraduate, he attended the University of Western Ontario. He received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in the field of computer vision, and was a post-doctoral scholar at U.C. Berkeley. From 1990 to 1994 he taught at McGill University in Montreal. Since 1994 he has been Assistant Professor of Computer Science at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, where he pursues research in computational vision systems for robotics, as well as computational models of neural mechanisms underlying visual perception. He also teaches in McMaster University's Theme School on Science, Technology, and Public Policy.

In January 1994, David Jones co-founded Electronic Frontier Canada. Since then, he has provided numerous interviews and made frequent appearances in newspapers, magazines, radio, and television. He is now consulted on an almost weekly basis by Canadian and foreign journalists on current issues related to computer technology and society.

In his role as president of EFC, David Jones has also been asked to consult with government departments formulating new policy related to controversial and illegal content on the Internet, and related to Canada's policy of encryption. He has also provided technical advice to several lawyers in cases involving computer technology and has been formally recognized as an "Expert in Computer Science" in the Supreme Court of Newfoundland.

Richard Rosenberg (Vice-President)

Richard Rosenberg was born in 1939 in Toronto, Ontario. He received his B.A.Sc. and M.A.Sc. from the University of Toronto. He received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Michigan in 1967. He is currently Associate Professor of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia, where he pursues research in how computers affect society, focusing in particular on privacy, free speech, and intellectual property rights.

Richard Rosenberg is the author of Computers and the Information Society (Wiley, 1986) and The Social Impact of Computers (Academic Press, 1997). In addition to his seminal article "Free speech, pornography, sexual harassment, and electronic networks", which appeared in the journal The Information Society in 1993, he has given many presentations on aspects of privacy and free speech at meetings such as Global Networking '97 and WebNet 1997.

Jeffrey Shallit (Vice-President & Treasurer)

Jeffrey Shallit was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in 1957. As an undergraduate, he attended Princeton University. In 1983, he received his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of California, Berkeley, where he studied under Manuel Blum. He emigrated to Canada in 1990. Since then he has been first Associate Professor and now Professor of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo. He is the co-author of Algorithmic Number Theory (MIT Press, 1996) and Automatic Sequences (Cambridge University Press, 2003).

Alarmed at the misinformation about the Internet being disseminated by Canadian news media and university administrators, Jeffrey Shallit co-founded Electronic Frontier Canada in 1994. Together with Harriet Lyons, he organized a conference entitled "Free Speech and Privacy in the Electronic Age", which took place at the University of Waterloo in November 1994.

Since then, he has made numerous media appearances, including being interviewed on CBC Newsworld, CBC Sunday Morning, and CBC Morningside with Peter Gzowski. He is the author of "Public Networks and Censorship", which appeared in the collection High Noon on the Electronic Frontier (MIT Press, 1996).